top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristel Jeffs

Of mess and majesty



To my knees I fall

beside a messy manger.

This babe,

this majesty,

is swimming in tears


and I look at my Saviour's screwed-up face

to see

that my mess

is welcome here.


My friend, there are too many questions to be answered. There are too many things to do. Too many things not to do. It is exhausting to be human at times - I think we all know it.


Jesus knows what it is like, too. In fact, He gets you so completely, right as you are. And He loves you all the same. You are not alone.


So lay aside your load of gifts and grudges; sit with me beside the cluttered, stinking manger. We belong here, on our knees, gazing at the babe and King who totally understands messy.


Rest a while here this Christmas: let us rejoice.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Note: Those of you who followed my old site (christeljeffs91.wordpress.com) might recognise some of my blogs. Along with new posts, I wish to re-post ones I have already written, in the hope they will continue to inspire us in our faith. 

bottom of page