top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristel Jeffs

Raindrops and rainbows



“Lord, where is Your unfailing love? You promised it to David with a faithful pledge.” Psalm 89:49


I echo the Psalmist’s words as I close my Bible and prepare to leave for work. I sling my heavy bag over my shoulder. Time for another demeaning, hard-fought battle at my workplace. But where is He?


Some days, He can feel so very far away. And I’m not blaming Him…I know He’s never far away. But the things I’ve done, the ways I’ve failed, and the struggles I face – they seem a lot closer.


I leave home and start the hour walk to work. I’m wearing my worn-out running shoes and clutching a nicer pair in my bag. I have buds in my ears and my choice of music is purposely positive.


As I reach the Auckland Domain, I look up. A brilliant half-rainbow is arched across the museum. I love it when the colours are so clear, so bold. A light rain starts to fall. I slip under cover next to the museum and glance to the east. The fast rising sun is still bright, holding on despite the swirling clouds. I keep walking under my umbrella.


Then the rain comes down in earnest. My shoes are leaking water and my socks are squelching. I huddle under the umbrella, but the bottoms of my jeans are soaked through. Normally such a thing would put me in a bad mood. But not today.


Because despite the gray all around me, the driving rain and the cold dampness surrounding my body, the rainbow is now stretched completely across the sky. I cannot glimpse it in its fullness as I wrestle with the umbrella, but I know it’s there. And I remember its promise.


I asked earlier this morning…where is the unfailing love of the Lord?


It is there, in the sky.


It is in the colourful band of promise that says no matter how cruel or immoral or sick you are, He will never give up on you. It is in the blood that was poured into earth, the precious blood of His Son.


His love is in the sky. In the blood.


It’s in me.


It’s in you.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Note: Those of you who followed my old site (christeljeffs91.wordpress.com) might recognise some of my blogs. Along with new posts, I wish to re-post ones I have already written, in the hope they will continue to inspire us in our faith. 

bottom of page