top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristel Jeffs

This is the unmaking

My thoughts today are inspired by Nichole Nordeman's song, The Unmaking. Have a listen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQkHD15J7HI

"This is where the walls give way. This is demolition day."

Like the song depicts, I’m sitting among the ruins of a kingdom cast down – a kingdom I built for my God. So what happened? How did I come to this?

“All the debris and all this dust, what is left of what once was…”

Sitting in the rubble, I look up and I see stars above. The air is chilly here. Come sit with me, if you will. Because I imagine that there are some of you who are also on the verge of a similar destruction.


The ideals of what your life should be, expectations from others of all you could be – maybe like me, that has failed you. Maybe like me, you hoped that your goodness and ‘doing right’ would save you. But no – I’ve come to realise that the things I built for God were just as fragile as the counterfeit altars I made for myself.

“Cause what stood before was never yours…”

This was a shock for me to discover. Perhaps you can relate. Well let me put my arm around you, friend, and share a difficult yet certain truth: I’m okay. You are too. We’ll build again.


Because when not even our good deeds are enough, that’s when we see God most clearly – because literally, there is nothing else left. All we can hope in, is Jesus. Thankfully, He is in the business of rebuilding broken things.


What will go? What will stay? I don’t know – but he is re-making me. After all that un-making.

Let him re-make you, too.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Note: Those of you who followed my old site (christeljeffs91.wordpress.com) might recognise some of my blogs. Along with new posts, I wish to re-post ones I have already written, in the hope they will continue to inspire us in our faith. 

bottom of page